top of page

Crafting A Sustainable Wardrobe: Simple Habit Changes


One of the hardest parts of my environmentally conscious journey, has been finding ways to buy clothes guilt-free. The best guide I've found thus far is Fashion Revolution's "Buyerarchy of Needs." This guide gave me an insight into which parts of my habits aligns with conscious consumerism.

For example, I am a huge fan of styling with family members unused clothes. You'd be surprised how many people are excited to see parts of their old wardrobe put to good use! Swapping, or kind of "buying" fits under the second-best way to guilt-free shop. Like this 90's fuzzy, cropped jacket my mother gifted me. Since I've been styling with it, she's been so pleased to see how much I care for a piece of clothing she could no longer style with. Does the gift of giving keeps giving or what!?

Every woman knows that if you have a best friend, you've lost and gained clothes from them. As an open and giving people, my bestfriend and I do this all the time. Borrowing, clothes from someone you trust will give it back when asked, is one of the most eco ways to give your wardrobe a face-lift! Need a dress for an important diner with your boyfriends parents? Call up your bestie and let them know you are raiding their wardrobe... for a cause! With the rise of a socially inclined population, comes the rise of people who are willing to share for a great reason. Honestly, what better reason is there than helping a friend in need while doing whats best for the planet we all share!?

My favorite part of this guide, which I utilize when the other three just isn't giving me what I'm looking for, is thrifting! My idea of thrifting is much different than everyone else's, because I explore abandoned places, which has given rise to my idea of bando-thrifting. This takes the notion of reusing to another level, all while giving me great satisfaction.

My biggest finds are hats, sunglasses and jackets, like this Jack Daniels hat that I found on a hiking trail in north Jersey, and this brown Corona hat left hanging abandoned on a fence. Why let these jems go to waste!? My boyfriend actually found me two gorgeous Carhartt jackets in a bando in upstate NY, one of which is shown here paired with the bando Corona hat! Here are three tips for responsible bando-thrifting

  1. Always bring gloves and a bag to put your found items in.

  2. Thoroughly wash everything in hot water before using. Pro Tip: Sometimes using a laundromat brings me peace of mind!

  3. Stay safe and appreciate your surroundings while thrifting.

Although, bando-thrifting gets me out of the house, and gives me an adventure, I am definitely not against traditional thrifting. Recently, I found an amazing minimalist belt in a thrift store, with a oval buckle and two metal hinges that sits on the fronts of my hips that actually allows me to personalize the look by either exposing the back or brown side of the belt! It's like a two-in-one belt that I'm certainly adding to the capsule wardrobe I've been developing (more on a capsule wardrobe coming soon!).

I have yet to make anything, but I have a jar filled with old t-shirts that I'm going to make into dishcloths and washcloths pretty soon, so stay tuned!

Crafting a lifestyle takes time, and one of the worst ways to get into eco-living is to force it! Let it happen naturally, and I'll tell you what that looked like for me. Whenever I throw something away or buy something that I knew was produced with wasteful energy systems, packaged in plastic or packed with harmful chemicals I didn't try to change my habit immediately. Let me explain why, sometimes when you overload your busy life with unattainable goals it makes these eco-friendly habit changes feel like a chore. Instead, I think about which habits make me feel guilty, and begin to plan ways I could make a change. That way, I give myself time to set a goal that will fit seamlessly into my everyday life. Our habits matter, and effect everything around us! If you want this planet to last then follow me on Instagram for more sustainable tips @bs_habits

Recent Posts

Connect With Me

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page